Skip to content

Renewal of Driving Licence Card for applicants who reside outside South Africa

December 11, 2007

Renewal of Driving Licence Card for applicants who reside outside the borders of the Republic of South Africa: Many visitors to the Arrive Alive Road Safety Website have raised this topic – and we thought it would be best to share the facts!:

Applicants should note that a Driving Licence Card cannot be renewed without the applicant applying in person as new fingerprints, photographs, signature and an eye test needs to be submitted.

Applicants planning to visit the Country are permitted to renew their licences, however, should they not be in the Country at the time of delivery, are entitled to nominate a relative or other person to collect the licence on their behalf. Such applicants must follow the procedure as referred to in Section 1 and ensure that:

• The Driving Licence Testing Centre (DLTC) is to be notified by the applicant when he/she goes to renew the card, that a person whom they have nominated will collect the licence in accordance of section 1.3 above.

It takes approximately six weeks for the Driving Licence Card to be delivered to the DLTC. Applicants can therefore apply for a Temporary Driving Licence and submit this together with their application for a renewal, to enable them to drive, until the card is delivered.

Applicants outside the borders of the RSA who’s Driving Licence Cards have expired or were lost/stolen and who are not in a position to return to the RSA to have the licence renewed:

The RTMC is in a position to issue a confirmation letter should such applicant have a valid licence, this will be established on the National Traffic Information System. The letter will serve as proof that the applicant has a valid licence and this will enable them to convert to a foreign driving licence in the country of current residence.

Please note that the confirmation letter cannot be interpreted as a driving licence when produced to a law enforcement official.

APPLICANTS REQUIRING CONFIRMATION LETTERS ARE REQUESTED TO INCLUDE THEIR RSA IDENTITY NUMBER AND POSTAL ADDRESS, THE PROVIDED ADDRESS IS WHERE THE CONFIRMATION LETTER WILL BE POSTED, UPON APPLYING FOR A CONFIRMATION LETTER.

Information supplied by:

ROAD TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT CORPORATION (RTMC)
110 Witch-Hazel Avenue, Highveld Technopark, Centurion, Tshwane

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Pinho permalink
    September 5, 2008 5:01 pm

    My drivers licence was stolen and need a new one- but am now living in portugal for a few years and am unable to return to South Africa. Please can you help, or advise what i can do from this side to have my drivers licence renewed.

    your help is much appreciated…

    Thank you
    Ana

  2. Gregory Lewis permalink
    November 26, 2008 4:37 am

    Thanks for the info provided. My licence is due to expire on 4 December 2008 and I will only be arriving in RSA on 7 December 2008 for a 3 week visit and then again only in June 2009.

    Is there any reason why the licences can not be renewed at the embassies abroad? Surely they could do the fingerprints too and we could submit official eye test from a registered optician if a form with all the required info could be developed for them to complete.

    I guess I have to settle for the temp. driving licence again.

    • Margareth permalink
      August 10, 2009 9:01 am

      Have you got a new license – please give some info. My licence has experied living in the Netherlands.

      Thans

  3. Leon Carstens permalink
    February 25, 2009 6:02 pm

    Thank`s For the info, but I have to agree with Gregory Lewis, there must be some way our government can assist us in obtaining an renewal licence. After all if you are abroad and your licence expire before you return to RSA what do you need to bring with you to prove you were not there. It only make things more complicated.

    Regards,

  4. Colin Rowe permalink
    March 2, 2009 2:42 pm

    Hi
    I’am in Australia, would it be possible for you to email me pictures of South African licenses wth the differant codes stipulated on the license.

    I would greatly apreciate you help.

    Regards,

    Colin

  5. Matthew permalink
    April 5, 2009 11:40 am

    Who do you need to speak to gain a confirmation letter.

  6. D van Wyk permalink
    April 12, 2009 1:47 pm

    But are RSA drivers licences not valid indefinitely ? Why then asking for new ones after expiration ate ?

  7. Ignatius van Rensburg permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:51 am

    I live in Sudan and my licence expires tomorrow, I will only be back in SA in July will I be able to renew my licence then?
    Kind regards

  8. Peter King permalink
    June 17, 2009 3:12 pm

    Renewal of Driving Licence Card

    How do I apply for renewal of my drivers license card?

    Kindly note the following before reading this notice:

    Your South African drivers license card serves as valid proof that you have a South African drivers license. When you’re drivers license card expires, it does not mean that your drivers license has expired – only that the card serving as valid proof that you hold such a license has expired. When you renew your card you will not be expected to undergo a drivers license test.

    The process to follow should your drivers license card be lost or stolen is the same as for the renewal of a drivers license card that is about to expire/has expired.

    1. Renewal of drivers license card in the case of applicants within the borders of the Republic of South Africa:

    1.1 Applicants must submit the following at the appropriate drivers license testing centre (DLTC):

    · A duly completed form DL1

    · Identification (ID) document

    · Certified copy of the ID document (for filing purposes)

    · Four photographs (same format as that required for ID documents)

    · The card issuing fee

    1.2 The new drivers license card should be available for collection at the DLTC at which the application was submitted within approximately six weeks. If the application for a new card is submitted within 2 months of expiry, the expiry date is extended for 3 months. If the card has already expired at the time of application, an application for a temporary drivers license should be made at the same time.

    1.3 If an applicant knows that he or she will be unable to receive the drivers license card in person at the driving license testing centre, the application must be accompanied by the following:

    · A certified copy of the ID document of the person who will collect the card on the applicant’s behalf

    · An affidavit in which the applicant states why he or she will be unable to receive the card in person, and lists the name and ID number of the person who will receive the card on his or her behalf

    · The person whose name and ID number appears on the affidavit must, when collecting the card on behalf of the applicant, present his or her ID document

    · If an applicant is unable to receive the card in person due to unforeseen circumstances, the person who collects the card on behalf of the applicant must submit the following:

    – His or her ID document and a certified copy thereof
    – A certified copy of the ID document of the applicant
    – An affidavit in which the applicant explains the nature
    of the unforeseen circumstances preventing him or her
    from receiving the card in person and lists the name and
    ID number of the person who will receive the card on his
    or her behalf

    2. Renewal of driving license card in the case of applicants who reside outside the borders of the Republic of South Africa:

    · One needs to apply in person for renewal of a drivers license card as new fingerprints, photographs; a signature and an eye test are required

    · Should the applicant know that he/she will not be in the country at the time of delivery, he/she may nominate a relative or other person to collect the card on his/her behalf. Such an applicant must follow the procedure explained in 1.3 above. In addition, the applicant must, when personally submitting the application, notify the relevant DLTC that he or she has nominated another person to collect the card upon delivery

    · As in the previous instances, such applicants can apply for a temporary drivers license and submit this together with their application for a renewal

    3. Applicants outside the borders of the RSA whose drivers license cards have expired or were lost/stolen and who are not in a position to return to the RSA to have the license renewed:

    · The Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) is in a position to issue a confirmation letter should such an applicant have a valid license (this will be established on the eNaTIS). The letter will serve as proof that the applicant does indeed hold a valid license and this will enable him/her to convert the license to a foreign driving license in the country in which he/she currently resides

    · Please note that such a confirmation letter cannot be interpreted as a drivers license when presented to a law enforcement official

    · Applicants requiring confirmation letters are requested to include their RSA ID number and postal address (to which the letter will be mailed) with their application

    http://www.rtmc.co.za/FAQ1/Renewal-of-Driving-Licence-Card/

    • val deyzel permalink
      July 7, 2011 5:41 pm

      hi my name was val jacobs i am now married and live in the uk my surname is now val deyzel I HAVE BEEN DRIVING SINCE I WAS 18 I AM NOW 52 i left to live in the uk nearly 8 yrs ago w2hen i left i never applied for the card so it use to be in my id book they gave me a new id book without my licence could u let me know who to speak to to obtain it back thanking you you can email me on valdeyzel@yahoo.com

    • jelena lapidus permalink
      October 10, 2011 1:06 pm

      hi there,

      where can i get a DL1 form to renew my licence?

    • Renecia Anntoinette Blows permalink
      June 13, 2012 1:42 am

      Hi there
      My South African drivers licence has expired and i am currently living in New Zealand I would like to know how to renew my SOUTH AFRICAN LICENCE as i am unable to go to South Africa

      • Renecia Blows permalink
        July 11, 2012 12:42 am

        Hi there
        Thanks to RTMC for sending me the confirmation letter, however this letter does not hold any value according to the New Zealand land and transport department as i was told, very sad to know that i will have to make a special trip to South Africa to retain my South African drivers licence…how sad is that surely there must be a way that us South African living abroad can renew there licence
        Renecia Blows

    • Bianca ODonoghue permalink
      June 29, 2013 5:41 am

      What if my licence expired last year october? Do i have to do a test and everything again or when i go to SA in sept this year i can just apply ?

  9. Wendy Heath permalink
    August 21, 2009 10:09 am

    Please can you help, I am a South African citizen and I have a U K Driving Licence
    I went to try and renew my licence and I was told I had to have letter. As I live in Durban, is there any office I can go to, so I can sort this out.
    I look forward to your reply
    Many Thanks
    Wendy

  10. Dedri Coetzer permalink
    August 28, 2009 3:10 pm

    Hi,

    I am based in Canada right now and will be for the next while. My SA drivers license have expired from what I can remember (seems to be lost too). I am unable to go to SA to renew this however do need one for when I eventually go back. What would you suggest as the best way to proceed? Have had a valid license for the last at least 20 years?

    Regards

    Dedri Coetzer

    • August 18, 2012 3:39 am

      Hi, my daughter is in the opposite situation as you. She is a Alberta/ Canadian and her drivers license is expiring here very soon. She is now living in Durbin and wont be coming back till after April. Any suggestions as to what she should or could do?
      Thanks for any help,
      Yvonne

  11. Alistair Burgess permalink
    October 7, 2009 4:16 pm

    Hi there. I’ve been living in the UK for the past 6 years now and understand that I need a confirmation letter in order to exchange it for a British one. I would like to send you all my details but there’s no post code with your address. Could you please advise? Thank you.

  12. Alistair Burgess permalink
    December 17, 2009 11:32 am

    Hi there again. Thank you for your confirmation letter you’ve sent, but unfortunately it wasn’t good enough for the DVLA here. I’ve applied twice using the confirmation letter, and was told that they don’t exchange expired licence cards, even when I called them I was told the same thing. Is this right what they doing, or should the confirmation letter actually entitle me to an exchange of licence?
    Your feedback would be much appreciated.

  13. Faye permalink
    December 17, 2009 4:57 pm

    My SA drivers licence expired in May. As I am not able to return to SA, kindly advise as to what I can do, in order to get it again.

    Thank you.

    Faye.

  14. February 3, 2010 5:23 am

    So can South African citizens who have Australian Drivers, use their Australian Drivers while visiting South Africa.

    We are travelling back for a month in a few weeks, and by the time we stand in the queue, do the finger prints thing, etc… we will only receive the renewed drivers licence two weeks after we leave!

    Any suggestions

  15. Leon Carstens permalink
    March 1, 2010 1:19 pm

    My South African drivers licence was expired for more than a year when I returned to South Africa. I had no problem renewing my drivers licence only had to show my passport to prove that i was not in South Africa when it expired. And if you have a overseas drivers licence you don’t even have to show your passport, just need to show your overseas drivers licence and your south african Id book.

  16. Stacey CLACK permalink
    March 12, 2010 1:22 pm

    Oops… as i was saying… after reading all the comments, i realise that what i need is a confirmation letter. I am living in France at the moment and won’t make it back to SA before my card expires. Could you let me know how to go about getting one please?
    kind regards,
    Stacey

  17. Larry Freshwater permalink
    March 16, 2010 1:17 pm

    hi,
    i have been living in the uk for seven years now and my licence has expired,could you please advise how i get a new one so i can change it for a uk licence.thanks

  18. Brendan Corcoran permalink
    April 22, 2010 8:40 am

    I am not a SA national, but have an expired SA license from when I worked there. I am due to visit there soon – can I also renew my card and nominate a friend to collect even though I am not a citizen and no longer resident?

  19. Estelle Bester permalink
    December 4, 2010 3:46 am

    I am currently in US and will be here longer that intended. ..another 4 months and my drivers liscence expires on 13 December. i need one until I can return to SA and renew it. Is there anything I can do?

  20. Linda permalink
    February 7, 2011 9:49 pm

    Hi There

    We are sitting with the same problem, we are now living in the uk and both our driving licences has expired now the dvla doesnt want to exchange it and we will need to go through the hole testing again in the uk. Is there nothing else that the SA goverment can do to help assist the people in this situation the letter doesnt work please please help

  21. Prenesha pomajda permalink
    May 11, 2011 11:05 am

    Hi my name is prenesha I have not been to south Africa in 6 years my south African drivers license is expired I have no family in south Africa what can I do to renew it I am now living in Ireland . Pls get back to me asap

  22. erica permalink
    July 23, 2011 8:38 am

    Hey

    I am also a South African, living in the UAE. My licence expired two years ago, and I got married since. I need to apply for a temp and a permanent licence when we go to visit in SA in December. I really need to know if I am going to have to do the tests again, or if i can just renew. OR if there is some letter I can get from the embassy that states that I was in the UAE when my licence expired?

  23. Mel permalink
    August 4, 2011 11:42 am

    Hello, I have been living in Ireland for the past 6yrs and need a confirmation letter to exchnage my South African Drivers Licence for an Irish one. Please advise where / to what address I can make an application for the confirmation letter as well as what info is needed.
    Thank you.

    • Alex permalink
      October 7, 2011 12:12 pm

      I have been trying to do the same thing and all that the DVLA here in teh UK can say is get a confirmation letter and South Africa says i need to come home and get it, its a bit of a pain!! the RTMC has sent me docs from the DVLA here stating what i already know, i have tried calling the department where i did my test in Durban, but they don’t even know what letter i’m talking about! have you had any luck at all? i have spoken to the south african embassy in london and they say the letter is enough.
      hope you have more luck!

  24. Vernon Patrick permalink
    November 4, 2011 6:56 am

    Hi, Please can someone help. I have never replaced my ID type drivers licence as I was unemployed and going through a divorce at the time. I did not have money to pay the fines two years later and lost hope. Please can someone help me. Can I still do so now. I am in a possition to pay the fines now.

  25. Sherry Evans permalink
    January 12, 2012 5:16 pm

    Hi, My South African Drivers license expires this week. I live in Dubai and will not be able to return to South Africa until next year. How can I go about renewing it? Is there anything the South African Embassy in Dubai can do?

  26. Sharon Turbitt permalink
    April 6, 2012 2:54 pm

    my driving licence was issued in 1991 when I lived in South Africa. I now live in Spain and my bag along with my ‘paper’ SA driving licence was stolen. How do I go about getting a new driving licence. The letter will not work for me as I have already tried to convert my SA licence to a Spanish licence but they say they have no arrangement with SA.

  27. Marco Smith permalink
    July 3, 2012 2:44 pm

    Hi, My Drivers license expires 25/09/2012. I live in Oslo Norway and will not be returning to SA before 2013. What to do?

  28. Darren Smith permalink
    October 29, 2012 12:07 am

    Hi, My Drivers license expires on 25/08/2012. I live in Brisbane, Australia and will not be returning to SA before 2015. What form’s do I need to fill out?

  29. Sharon Desire Shilo (SD SHILO) permalink
    November 28, 2012 11:42 am

    I am presently in Israel and need a letter confirming that I have been in possession of a valid driver’s licence for the past 5 years. My i.d. no is 490 616 0196 006. My licence was renwed on 18/07/2012 and is valid until 18/08/2017. Would it be possible to send me a letter to confirm that I have been in possession of a valid driver’s licence for the past five years? I would greatly appreciate your assistance in this regard

  30. Bianca ODonoghue permalink
    May 28, 2013 7:38 am

    Please help me- my drivers license expired last year 2012 in October and i have not yet been back to south africa to renew it . I am visiting south africa this September, will i face a problem renewing it if it expired that long ago?

  31. missjansen permalink
    June 10, 2013 7:00 am

    URGENT: I have been living in Malaysia for over 2 years. My license expired in 2011 but I renewed it in 2010 before I left. I could not collect it as I had then already left for Malaysia so I am only in possession of the drivers license card that expired in 2011. I plan to come back to South Africa in maybe a week or two (I will be in SA for a week). When I get there, I will have to hire a car, as I have no transport whatsoever. How do I go about this using my expired card? Is there a letter or something similar that I can receive from the department which confirms that I have a valid license and I can use it at the car rental company?

  32. Bianca ODonoghue permalink
    June 29, 2013 5:40 am

    What if my licence expired last year october? Do i have to do a test and everything again or when i go to SA in sept this year i can just apply ?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

